Snowballing to happiness six: I am not #spambot

Well, that’s a very relaxing way to start the day, someone I followed on twitter yesterday who is a #herbalist #green #organic #motherhood #vegan sent me a link to click on that ‘validates’ that you are not a ‘spambot’ and therefore, perhaps, you might, get a follow back,

I’m not really that desperate or needy thank you, do I now need to prove I am not a spambot to get a follow back? has it come to this?

I feel hurt, offended and insulted that a total stranger feels it necessary to send a ‘direct tweet’ (which quite honestly is annoying in itself) asking me to click on a link and validate myself! for what? a follow back? who actually do they think that they are? If this twitter user had taken two seconds to glance over my tweets they would have seen, quite clearly, that I am not a spambot

Or maybe I am but I don’t know it – like in Bladerunner when one of the cyborgs doesn’t know they are a machine – but really all the memories are implanted

Then I reflect, why do I feel angry about this? perhaps its because its IT taking over the world, or that we become victims of other people’s paranoia, or that quite frankly, life is short enough and if that person can’t be bothered glancing over my tweets to check that there worst suspicions are not true, that I am not a spambot, then they might be able to relax

Baby, its your monkey, I ain’t feeding it – meaning, if this really is your concern that’s your stuff, why drag anybody else through it? I mean really, why go through a 3rd party validation service to prove something, isn’t that spam?

Leave a Reply

